Many resources and services are available to Waubonsee students online. This guide shows how you can access online library resources and how to get help when you need it.
Services Currently Available from the Library - Library Hours
Waubonsee students, faculty and staff have off-campus access to the Library's online databases which can be used to search and view articles and e-books. Log in to mywcc with your Waubonsee X-number and password, then access the Llibrary’s online resources from the Library tab on mywcc.
If you need assistance with logging in to mywcc, consult the resources on the Technology Resources and Help guide. If you still need help, contact the Technical Assistance Center at firstname.lastname@example.org. Be sure to include your X-number and a callback phone number and/or email.
The Library is available to assist in the following ways online:
|Why can't I access the databases?||Make sure you are signed in on mywcc. Use your X-number and password to sign in. Access the databases from the library website.|
|Why isn't my account working?||Contact the Technical Assistance Center if your X-number and password are not working - at email@example.com. Be sure to include your X-number and a callback phone number and/or email|
|How can I see the full text of an article in the databases?||Most databases have a pdf or other link that will connect to the full text of the article. If the full text is not available, you will see the "Request via Resource Sharing" icon. Use this link to request a copy of the article from another library. This process may take several days.|
|What do databases do?||Databases allow you to search for journal and magazine articles and other sources, and then to access the full text.|
|Is there a list of online journals?||You search for specific journal and magazine titles using Full Text Finder.|
|How do I find online books?||Search for online books using the Ebook Search.|
|How do I find articles about my topic?||Use a library database. They are listed alphabetically on the library website and also included on the subject guides.|
|I am getting frustrated. Can I get some help?||Yes! Contact the reference staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.|
|Can I use Google Scholar to find articles?||Yes, many articles listed in Google Scholar will link back to the full text of the article in a Waubonsee library database. It is a good idea to use our library databases and to not limit yourself to Google.|
|If I used Academic Search Complete, do I need to use any other databases?||Academic Search Complete includes articles on almost any topic, but the most comprehensive coverage of a subject is in a specific database such as PsycInfo for Psychology or CINAHL for Nursing.|
|How do I format my sources in my Bibliography or Works Cited page?||Most databases have a citation tool that will make a citation for an item in a particular style (MLA, APA, Chicago). Always check these citations using a library handout or information from your instructor. See the online guide to Citing Sources.|