Guides: Psychology: Books

Library Catalog

Search Tips

Search techniques to help search for Psychology books

To search for specific Psychology subjects in the catalog use the most direct terms for searching (e.g. Alzheimers or child development). For finding psychological dimensions of any topic, use [topic] AND psychological aspects.
To BROWSE the shelves for Psychology-related books, look in the BF area. Here is a brief outline of LC call numbers pertaining to Psychology:

BF176-176.5	Psychological Tests & Testing
BF180-198.72	Experimental Psychology
BF309-499	Cognitive Psychology
BF636-637	Applied Psychology
BF660-685	Animal and Human Psychology
BF712-724.85	Developmental Psychology
LB1050.9-1091	Educational Psychology
HF5548.7-5548.85	Industrial Psychology
HM1001-1281	Social Psychology
RC467	Cllinical Psychology (Psychiatry)
RJ499-507	Child Psychiatry

There are other areas of the collection that contain resources supporting the field of psychology, including:

HQ1-2044	Family
LB1050.9-1091	Educational Psychology
RC435-571	Psychiatry
RJ499-507	Child Psychiatry

Ebook Search

Print Books

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Publication Date: 2019
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. It is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Gary R. VandenBos; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Howard S. Friedman (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2015
A comprehensive overview of the many genetic, neurological, social, and psychological factors that affect mental health, also describing the impact of mental health on the individual and society, and the factors that aid positive mental health. Includes material on assessment, theories of personality, specific disorders, therapies, forensic issues, ethics, and cross-cultural and sociological aspects.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Carolyn Kernberger
Call Number: REF RC455.2 .C4 D536 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The official criteria for mental disorders. Available online in the Psychiatry Online database.
Access Online Version
DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by Michael B. First
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis.
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by John W. Barnhill (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients:

E-Reference Books

Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
Major psychological theories and the people who developed them in an online database.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
An online encyclopedia that provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

Psychology: Books

Library Catalog

Search Tips

Ebook Search

Print Books

E-Reference Books

New Books in Psychology