Skip to Main Content

Introduction to Library Research: Finding Articles

New to the library? This guide will introduce you to the process of doing college library research.


Articles come from popular magazines, industry-specific publications, newspapers, and academic journals. Use library databases to find articles on specific aspects of your topic.

Articles

Articles are good sources to use for 

  • very current events (newspapers)
  • contemporary issues (magazines)
  • in-depth research (academic journals)
     

Academic Search Complete

Search for articles in magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and trade publications.
Limit Your Results

Finding Articles

To find articles, use the library databases on the Library websiteAcademic Search Complete and Academic OneFile Select  are two multi-subject databases that can be a good place to start. Follow these steps for finding articles:

  1. Keep your search simple. Enter basic terms for each aspect of your topic, such as "energy drinks and health."
  2. Use the limiting options available on most databases. Common limiters are full-text, date, and source type. Articles from academic (scholarly) journals may be required for some assignments.
  3. Evaluate your results. Use the title of the article, the abstract (summary) and the subject terms to determine if the articles are relevant to you. If you want different or additional results, try different search terms. (college costs vs. student loan debt) Remember to keep it simple. Contact a librarian if you need help with your search. 
  4. To display the full article, click on the PDF icon, the "HTML Full Text," or other full text icon. Clicking the "Full Text Finder" icon will take you to the full article in a different database. 
  5. Please contact a librarian if you need any assistance.

Live Chat

 

Contact Us

Contact us using Live Chat. It operates during the hours that the library is open for online service. Or email us your questions.

Library Account
Library Account Questions
Headset
Technology / Online Access Questions