Although a quick Google search or YouTube video can provide inspiration and background information for your research, a web search can yield overwhelming or unreliable results.
A specialized academic encyclopedia provides a trustworthy foundation for your research. The short articles are written by experts and are designed to give you a comprehensive overview of a topic, including its most important people, dates, events, and concepts. You can then use what you learned to refine your topic and brainstorm keywords to find more books and articles.
This is the most direct way to find a reference book on your subject. In the Discovery Search Bar, combine your topic with a word like "encyclopedia," "dictionary," "handbook," or "companion."
Example Searches:
"New York City" AND encyclopedia
psychology AND dictionary
"environmental policy" AND handbook
"Jane Austen" AND companion
This will bring up specialized reference titles focused specifically on your area of interest.
If you want to find an entry within a reference book (especially an online one), use the filters.
Perform a search for your general topic (e.g., "Gilded Age").
On the results page, look for the "Resource Type" filter, usually on the left side of the screen.
Select "Reference Entries" to instantly narrow your results to articles from hundreds of online encyclopedias and dictionaries.
This is the fastest way to get a quick, reliable overview of a specific term or event.
Once you find a book:
For online access: Click the "Available Online" or "View eBook" link.
For a physical book: Note the location and call number to find it on the shelf.
Let's use a real-world example. Imagine you need to research the history of public transit in New York City, but you don't know where to begin. You'd turn to a specialized encyclopedia like The Encyclopedia of New York City.
Here’s a simple process to follow:
Look up your general topic. A search for "subways" in The Encyclopedia of New York City will give you a detailed overview. This entry will explain the system's origins, the key companies involved (like the IRT and BMT), the major construction periods, and its social impact on the city's development.
As you read the main entry, pull out key terms, names, and places. The "subways" article will mention people like August Belmont Jr., events like the "Dual Contracts of 1913," and concepts like "mosaic station art." Make a list of these. They are your new, more specific keywords for searching in library databases and catalogs later.
Most encyclopedia entries will point you toward related articles. At the end of the "subways" entry, you might see a "See also" note directing you to entries like "Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA)," "streetcars," or "Robert Moses." Following these trails helps you discover connections and broaden your understanding of the topic's context.
Perhaps the most valuable feature is the short bibliography at the end of each entry. The entry on "subways" will list the most important scholarly books written on the subject. This is a curated, expert-approved reading list that you can use to find high-quality books and articles for the next phase of your research.
