Guides: Sociology: Books

Library Catalog

Sociology is a social science that studies the interaction of individuals and groups within society.

Sociology is subdivided into many specialized fields of which some of are:

Applied sociology - applies sociological theory to the understanding of society
Comparative sociology - compares social interactions of people between countries, states or social groups
Cultural sociology - analyzes cultural differences within society
Demography - studies the characteristics and dynamics pertaining to human population
Marriage and Family - examines the role of the marriage and family structure and their impact on society
Political sociology - studies the sociological relationship between state and society
Social psychology - study of the relations between people and groups

To browse the shelves for sociology titles, Look in these LC call number ranges:

HM - Sociology	HS - Societies, Clubs
HN - Social History	HT - Communities, Classes, Races
HQ - Family, Marriage, Women

Worldcat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Identify resources at your library and in the collections of the worlds libraries. Library users and staff use WorldCat Discovery to search the WorldCat database of electronic, digital and physical resources; to identify materials they need and to find out where they are available.

Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies by Constance L. Shehan
Call Number: REF HQ728 .W535 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Family Studies presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary collection of the key concepts, trends, and processes relating to the study of families and family patterns throughout the world.
Proud Heritage
Call Number: REF HQ76.3 .U5 P765
Publication Date: 2014
This groundbreaking reference traces the roots and development of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) rights and issues in the United States from the pre-colonial period to the present day. Highlights the social, cultural, and political developments of LGBT issues through biographies of key people, entries, legislation, and primary documents
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by William A. Darity
Call Number: REF H40 .A2 I5 2008
Publication Date: 2007
This 9-volume study of social sciences is a successor to the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences that established standards for knowledge in social science research and pracitce. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present. Also available Online
Encyclopedia of World Poverty by Mehmet Odekon (Editor)
Call Number: REF HV12 .E54 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This encyclopedia is a collection of 750 articles in three volumes exploring the causes, history, and enduring effects of poverty. Also available online

Sage Handbook of Feminist Theory
An online comprehensive guide to the issues and debates surrounding relations between women and men, mapping the present and future of thinking about feminist theory.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
This online encyclopedia examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era.

Principles of Sociology by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: HM1106 .P756 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Principles of Sociology by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: HM716 .P756 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Annual Editions: Sociology by Kurt Finsterbusch
Call Number: HM1 .A76 2019
Publication Date: 2018
The Sociology Book by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: HM585 .S61584 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The Sociology Book takes on some of humankind's biggest questions: What is society? What makes it tick? Why do we interact in the way that we do with our friends, coworkers, and rivals?
Society Explained by Nathan Rousseau
Call Number: HM585 .R677 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Introduces key concepts in sociology. After an overview of the history of sociology, the book walks readers through subjects that include individualism; culture; socialization and imagination; values, money, and politics; marriage and family; religious diversity; and education and social change. Each chapter covers leading thinkers and critical concepts
Theoretical Sociology by Jonathan H. Turner
Call Number: HM461 .T87 2014
Publication Date: 2013
What can sociological theory tell us about the basic forces that shape our world?
Writing in Sociology by Mark Edwards
Call Number: HM569 .E39 2012
Publication Date: 2011
This handbook provides students guidance in sociological writing of all kinds.