Welcome to the Waubonsee Community College Library's Nursing Research Guide. This guide offers nursing-focused resources, including databases, evidence-based practice materials, and guidance on writing a literature review. If you need any help, please reach out to a librarian.
Human Diseases and Conditions by 
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures. Entries are focused on issues in the United States but include information on other countries, including Australia and the United Kingdom. Entries also include resources for further information, full-color illustrations and photographs, statistical tables, and Key Terms sidebars; the book will also provide contact information for organizations and government programs, a glossary, and cross references. Public Health is an excellent reference for high school and college students conducting research, as well as the general public
Gale Encyclopedia of Prescription Drugs by
Gale Encyclopedia Of Prescription Drugs, a two-volume set of 300 entries, is a comprehensive consumer resource on the most commonly prescribed drugs describing potential side effects, drug and food interactions, recommended dosages, and warnings/precautions. Entries follow the standardized, balanced format of the health/medicine Gale Encyclopedia of â?¦ line of titles. The addition of Key Terms sidebars enhances the main body. All entries have a bibliography and color image of the drug. The front matter includes an introduction and foreword by one of the advisors and the back matter has a subject index, glossary, list of organizations, and Questions to Ask Your Pharmacist.
Mosby's 2018 Nursing Drug Reference by 
Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference by 
2017 PDR Nurse's Drug Handbook by 
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses 2019Gale Encyclopedia of Prescription Drugs by
Gale Encyclopedia Of Prescription Drugs, a two-volume set of 300 entries, is a comprehensive consumer resource on the most commonly prescribed drugs describing potential side effects, drug and food interactions, recommended dosages, and warnings/precautions. Entries follow the standardized, balanced format of the health/medicine Gale Encyclopedia of â?¦ line of titles. The addition of Key Terms sidebars enhances the main body. All entries have a bibliography and color image of the drug. The front matter includes an introduction and foreword by one of the advisors and the back matter has a subject index, glossary, list of organizations, and Questions to Ask Your Pharmacist.
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly style within the behavioral and social sciences .
General Document Guidelines include:
NOTE:
(Last Name, year, page numbers)
(Heckathorn, 1997, pp. 182-183)
(Davis, n.d.).
For more examples of citations of other types of journal articles, see the Publication Manual of the APA or Purdue OWL's APA Guide.
(Schiraldi, 2001).
For more examples of citations of other types of journal articles, see the Publication Manual of the APA or Purdue OWL's APA Guide.
NOTE:
(Clay, 2008).
For more examples of citations of other types of journal articles, see the Publication Manual of the APA or Purdue OWL's APA Guide.
(Brody, 2007).
For more examples of citations of other types of journal articles, see the Publication Manual of the APA or Purdue OWL's APA Guide.
NOTE:
(Buterbaugh, 2016, para. 2).
For more examples of citations of other types of journal articles, see the Publication Manual of the APA, Purdue OWL's APA Guide, or the APA Style website.
(National Geographic, 2012).
For more examples of citations of other types of journal articles, see the Publication Manual of the APA, Purdue OWL's APA Guide, or the APA Style website.
Black's Medical Dictionary by
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
Taber's brings meanings to life. In hand, online or mobile...the all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinic, and beyond. Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 24 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects today's most current and relevant information. An access code inside new, print texts unlocks a FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, the complete Taber's database for quick reference when and where you need it. See what students and practitioners are saying about the previous edition... Five Stars "What every medical student, student nurse, paramedic student, and medical professional should have."--Kelly, Online Reviewer EVERYTHING A NURSING STUDENT NEEDS. "My school did not recommend this book, but I remembered this book from LPN school and how much it helped with care planning. It's much easier to carry than all the textbooks to clinicals too! LOVE this newest version too!!"--Melissa A. B., Online Reviewer Nursing school life saver. "This book has been a great for my clinical experience databases. I love how it's broken into sections for easy access and understanding. My school offers an electronic edition for free to us, but I like hard copy books."--P.M., Online Reviewer Gotta Have It! "I have thoroughly used this dictionary already in my schooling! I am sure it will help me in many days to come."--Christina M., Online Reviewer Very Informative! "Love that I have access to the online version that makes it quicker to find terms needed for class."--Kelly V., Online Reviewer Great book. "I use it for nursing school during my clinicals and it is perfect."--Online Reviewer
Concise Medical Dictionary by
This market-leading illustrated dictionary contains 12,500 authoritative entries on all aspects of medical science. Written by a team of medical experts, all entries have been revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the very latest in medical knowledge and practice. Entries are accessible and jargon-free and are complemented by over 140 illustrations and diagrams. This brand new edition includes over 500 new entries and features increased coverage of pharmacology, obstetrics/gynaecology, paediatrics, ethics, nephrology, and psychiatry. Recommended web links are now provided for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Medical Dictionary companion website, and appendices have been expanded to include tables of paediatric reference ranges, milk formulas, and additional abbrevations for blood testsSelling almost 700,000 copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions. It is also an invaluable home reference guide for the general reader.
GALE Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
This set provides more than 1,200 alphabetically arranged entries, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by The Library at the Fox Campus and the Todd Library at the Sugar Grove campus has a variety of anatomy models to use in the library, including a full skeleton, the eye, the nervous system and others. Request the models at the Circulation desk.
Contact us using Live Chat. It operates during the hours that the library is open for online service. Or email us your questions.
