The Magic Feather Effect by Melanie WarnerThe acclaimed author of Pandora's Lunchbox and former New York Times reporter takes an enlightening, engaging deep dive into the world of alternative medicine and the surprising science that explains why it may work. We all know someone who has had a seemingly miraculous cure from an alternative form of medicine: a friend whose chronic back pain vanished after sessions with an acupuncturist or chiropractor; a relative with digestive issues who recovered with herbal remedies; a colleague whose autoimmune disorder went into sudden inexplicable remission thanks to an energy healer or healing retreat. The tales are far too common to be complete fabrications, yet too anecdotal and outside the medical mainstream to be taken seriously scientifically. How do we explain them and the growing popularity of alternative medicine more generally? Is there a biological basis for practices like acupuncture, tai chi, chiropractic, and energy healing? Who are the faithful patients and practitioners who tell these stories and speak of such mystical-seeming concepts as qi, chakras, and meridians in the first place? In The Magic Feather Effect, author and journalist Melanie Warner attempts to answer these questions, taking us on a vivid, fascinating journey through the world of alternative medicine. Crossing continents and sides of the debate, visiting prestigious research clinics and ordinary people's homes, she investigates the scientific underpinning for the purportedly magical results of these practices and reveals not only the medical power of beliefs and placebo effects, but also the range, limits, and uses of the surprising system of self-healing that resides inside us. Equal parts helpful, illuminating, and compelling, The Magic Feather Effect is a brilliant exploration of some of the world's most popular health treatments, the people who seek them, the scientists who study them, and the reasons they may work.
Call Number: R733 .W37
Publication Date: 2019
Alternative Energy by Christopher A. SimonThe second edition of Alternative Energy: Political, Economic, and Social Feasibility builds on first edition material, but with significant updates on dramatic changes within the renewable energy sector over the last decade. The book discusses the basic technical aspects of major renewable energy systems and technological developments; the impact of politics on energy policy using contemporary theories of public policy (such as, Advocacy Coalition Framework (ACF), Punctuated Equilibrium (PE), Narrative Policy Framework, and Policy Diffusion), as well as discussing the evolution of the social feasibility of renewable energy. Alternative energy solutions, such as nuclear power, are expanded to discuss nuclear power developments and feasibility in the post-Fukushima policy environment. International commitment to renewable energy is also addressed.
Call Number: HD9502 .U52 S544 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Sample searches for books about alternative medicine:
Body, Mind & Spirit -- Healing
Sample searches for books about alternative energy:
Renewable energy sources
Synthetic fuels (i.e transportation)
Electronic Books and Reference Books
A list of eBooks on Alternative Medicine can be found here. You can search within this list for your topic by doing an "Advanced Search" and including your topic in the second search box.
Alternative Energy by GalèThis title introduces students to issues surrounding both current energy sources and alternative energy options. While there is significant discussion of the non-renewable resources now used to meet the majority of the worlds energy needs (oil, coal and natural gas), the primary focus of the set is on newer options to meet the ever-growing demand. These options include wind and solar energy, fuel cells, hydropower, geothermal power and biomass energy. In addition, more theoretical sources are also explored, including cold fusion, zero point energy and universal forces. Other topics of discussion include the science behind the energy source, notable scientists and scientific discoveries, current examples of use, and the issues, challenges and obstacles to large-scale use.
Publication Date: 2012
Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Richard P. Capriccioso (Editor); Paul Moglia; Salem Press EditorsThe set contains over 700 essays on a variety of topics, including acupuncture, aromatherapy, crystal healing, detoxification, herbal medicine, magnet therapy, probiotics, Qigong, traditional Chinese herbal medicine, vegan diets, and vitamins and minerals. The history of both complementary and alternative medicine is included, as are key figures such as Deepak Chopra. Other essays discuss important issues such as alternative versus traditional medicine.
Publication Date: 2012
The Gale Encyclopedia Alternative Medicine by Gale Research Inc"Can magnets relieve arthritis pain? Does the scent of lavender calm the nerves? Is St. John's Wort a mood enhancer? Authoritative, objective and in tune with the subjects that matter to students and researchers, Gale presents four volumes of current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices. Covering all aspects of the subject through more than 800 entries, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine identifies types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy. For the practitioner or interested patient, there are current training requirements, listings of organizations, as well as descriptions of treatments. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors. Biographies of pioneers in the field -- including Deepak Chopra, Edward Bach and David Palmer --appear as sidebars through the text. Included in each entry are glossary sidebars that define key terms. The four volumes contain more than 800 entries, approximately 400 color images, and many informative illustrations and charts pertaining to herbs and flowers, therapies and procedures, nutrition, and diseases and conditions. More than 50 new entries were added, on topics ranging from cherry juice, modified citrus pectin, oleander, and horticultural therapy; most existing entries were reviewed and updated, and many new images, charts and illustrations were added."
Use Academic Onefile Select to find full-text popular periodical articles or scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles in most subject areas. A great place to find reliable articles for your research.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Provides consumers with a resource for healthy living, based on an integrative medicine philosophy, with articles on Health & Wellness, Nutrition, Mind, Body & Spirit, How to Age Gracefully, and other engagement articles.
Features definitions, arguments, and essays on hundreds of strange beliefs, amusing deceptions, and dangerous delusions. It also features dozens of entries on logical fallacies, cognitive biases, perception, science, and philosophy.