Library Research - English 085 - Lindquist - Guides at Waubonsee Community College

How to search our catalog/databases (Video Tutorials)

Video tutorials: In Context: Opposing Viewpoints & Academic Search Complete

Find background information (Encyclopedias/Reference)

Background information can be useful to gain familiarity with your topic. Check out the library's encyclopedias for basic information and overviews. These are also sometimes known as "reference books" or belonging to the "reference section."

Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines 100 sources into a searchable collection offering integrated, consistent coverage of subjects from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica, along with Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Student Dictionary and Thesaurus.

Choosing a topic/Finding resources (Issues Databases)

These library databases contain sources for many current, controversial topics - articles from magazines, newspapers and academic journals, as well as opinion essays. The opinion pieces present particular viewpoints about controversial topics. These databases are also a great place to start if you are looking for a topic. Browse the available topics in the database and find something that interests you.

In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source for information on today's hottest social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles. Click "Browse Issues" to see a list of topics.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Click "Issues" to see the full list of topics.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
In depth research reports on current and controversial issues. Use "Browse Topics" or "Browse Reports by Date" to see lists of topics.

Finding More Articles (Library Databases)

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Use Academic Onefile Select to find full-text popular periodical articles or scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles in most subject areas. A great place to find reliable articles for your research.