This third edition of Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America includes essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) and information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also includes ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has a listing of organizations and research centers, names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations. Approximately one-third of the essays will include a recipe for a traditional dish associated with that ethnic group. Each essay will also be accompanied by a map showing either historical or current population patterns in the United States for the ethnic group in question.
The African American Almanac includes a chronology of important events in African American history, a chapter on African American Firsts, a chapter on significant documents in African American History, a chapter on African American Landmarks, and a nation-by-nation profile of Africa. Politics, religion, science, art, music, literature, sports, education, civil rights, military and law.
Also available Online
This encyclopedia is anchored by alphabetically arranged essays on such topics as abolitionism, affirmative action, and the civil rights movement, and contains hundreds of shorter articles on notable African Americans, groundbreaking events, sports and culture, labor and significant heritage sites.
Covers all aspects of contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean from 1920 to the present. day. "Culture" is broadly defined to include food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.
This encyclopedia traces the history of Latinos in the United States from colonial times to the present, focusing on their impact on the nation in its historical development and current culture. It explores issues such as labor, legal and illegal immigration, traditional and immigrant culture, health, education, political activism, art, literature, and family, as well as historical events and developments.
Encyclopedia Latina explores every aspect of Latino life in America from a myriad of perspectives, spanning the arts, media, cuisine, government and politics, science and technology, business, health, and sports, among others.
This landmark two volume source ranks as one of the field's most comprehensive guides to Native American studies, offering historical, cultural, and modern reference, supporting a complete range of research.
This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on Asian Americans which addresses a broad range of topics on various Asian and Pacific Islander American groups from 1848 to the present day.
This encyclopedia examines the diversity of the Asian American and Pacific Islander spiritual experience. * Covers both common motifs in Asian American religious culture, such as Chinese New Year festivals and mortuary rituals, as well as many newly established faith traditions,