Skip to main content

Communication 100 - McGuire: Library Research

This guide is to assist students in Communication 100 use the library databases to find sources.

The online resources on this page should help you find sources for your speeches. If you are having trouble finding articles, contact the librarians. They are experienced searchers and are happy to help. 

What are the databases?

The databases are library search tools containing articles from traditionally-published sources. The databases contain articles from

  • popular magazines - Newsweek, Vegetarian Times
  • academic journals - International Journal of Psychology, Social Problems
  • newspapers - Washington Post, New York Times
  • industry specific publications - Food Logistics, Marketing News

Search a library database to find articles to use as sources in your college work. 

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a very large database containing articles from magazines, academic journals and newspapers. It covers all subject areas, so it is useful for students in most classes. This video shows the basics of using Academic Search Complete - searching, selecting articles, getting the full-text article, and using the database tools. View in full screen. 

Additional Multi-subject Databases

Databases for Persuasive Speeches

These databases may be useful for your persuasive speech. They contain sources on current and controversial issues. 

Citing Sources - MLA

Live Chat

 

Contact Us

Contact us using Live Chat. It operates during the hours that the library is open for online service. Or email us your questions.

Library Account
Library Account Questions
Headset
Technology / Online Access Questions