Guides: LGBTQ+ History Month: Health Care

Articles for LGBTQ+ Individuals Seeking Healthcare

Websites for LGBTQ+ Individuals Seeking Healthcare

LGBT Health Services
Find networks, services, and health clinics by state for LGBT individuals by the CDC.
WPATH Provider Directory Search
From the World Professional Association for Transgender Health, find various LGBTQ+ healthcare services by state.

Books for Healthcare Professionals

Fast Facts About LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses
Call Number: RT83.3 .T73 2022
ISBN: 9780826161512
Publication Date: 2022
A foundational text offering nurses concise and pragmatic information about the LGBTQ community to help them deliver culturally competent and inclusive care.
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health
Call Number: RA564.9 .H65 G56 2019
Publication Date: 2019
This comprehensive review is the first handbook on LGBT physical and mental health created by the world's oldest and largest association of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender health care professionals.
LGBTQ Cultures
Call Number: RA564.9 .H65 L43 2018
Publication Date: 2017
Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge .

Databases for Healthcare Professionals

Healthcare systems and services are continuously evolving and adapting to meet the demands of those seeking care. Because of this continuous evolution and adaptation, it is important that people studying to be healthcare professionals have access to the most recent publications produced by the medical field. Having access to the most up-to-date healthcare information is especially significant for ensuring healthcare professionals are providing inclusive care to marginalized communities, such as the LGBTQ+ community. Below are listed a few healthcare databases to promote access to reliable and timely healthcare information.

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database of consumer health information covers a variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics, for the non-professional.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines aimed at professionals in the field.
OVID This link opens in a new window
For Health professionals, this database provides full text articles and the ability to browse journals like the American Journal of Nursing or Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!