Biology: Websites

Online database of animal history, distribution, classification and conservation biology provided by the University of Michigan.

The Bio-Web: Molecular and Cell Biology and Bioinformatics news, tools, books, resources and web applications development

Biology Online promotes information in the life sciences by using tutorials, and providing references and an online dictionary of biology terms.

This site is a portal to online database of the world's known species of animals, plants, fungi and micro-organisms.

This encyclopedia documents all 1.9 million named species of animals, plants, and other forms of life on Earth

Portal for the Endangered Species Act. Includes laws and policies, and a database of endangerd species

"Since 1858, the Illinois Natural History Survey has been the guardian and recorder of the biological resources of Illinois---the state's biological memory.

INHS Bibliography database of publications of INHS staff, 1870-

This site provides information from biodiversity scientists on the "scientific basis for effective conservation"

The USDA PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Public Library of Science is an Open Access publisher, with a mission to accelerate progress in the sciences

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

This site provides various databases pertaining to invasive species

WorldWideScience.org is a global science search engine designed to provide scientific discovery and progress by the sharing of scientific information

Please note: You need to download a ZIP file to use/see animations.