Skip to main content

English 085 - Lindquist: Library Research

Tips and resources for students in Michelle Lindquist's English 085

Sources for Your Project

The databases on this page should help you find sources for your project. There are video tutorials for two of the databases. The tutorials give you an overview of how each database works. If you are having any difficulty using the databases and finding sources for your topic, please contact a librarian. Email us at reference@waubonsee.edu or use the Live Chat service when the library is open for service (on the right on this page). We want to help!

Issues Databases

These library databases contain sources for many current, controversial topics - articles from magazines, newspapers and academic journals, as well as opinion essays. The opinion pieces present  particular viewpoints about controversial topics. These databases are also a great place to start if you are looking for a topic. Browse the available topics in the database and find something that interests you. 

Video Tutorials

Video tutorial for In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Video tutorial for Academic Search Complete

Finding More Articles - Library Databases

How to Find Articles - Step by Step

To find articles, use the library databases, either from the library web site (https://library.waubonsee.edu/) or from the Library tab on mywcc. Academic Search Complete and Academic OneFile Select  are two multi-subject databases that can be a good place to start. Follow these steps for finding articles:

  1. Keep your search simple. Enter basic terms for each aspect of your topic, such as "energy drinks and health."
  2. Use the limiting options available on most databases. Common limiters are full-text, date, and source type. Articles from academic journals may be required for some assignments.
  3. Evaluate your results. Use the title of the article, the abstract (summary) and the subject terms to determine if the articles are relevant to you. If your results are not relevant, consider modifying your search terms. Contact a librarian if you need assistance with your search. 
  4. To display the full article, click on the PDF icon, the "HTML Full Text," or other full text icon. Clicking the "Full Text Finder" icon will take you to the full article in a different database. 
  5. Please contact a librarian if you need any assistance.

Citing Sources - MLA

Welcome

Live Chat

 

Contact Us

Contact us using Live Chat. It operates during the hours that the library is open for online service. Or email us your questions.

Library Account
Library Account Questions
Headset
Technology / Online Access Questions