When searching for Primary Sources in the catalog use the sub-headings of sources, personal narratives, diaries, archives, correspondence, interviews, maps, posters and speeches, just to name some. For example "Slavery--Personal narratives."
Contains selected major stories from the Chicago Tribune. Coverage is from the 1920's through 1984. Includes front pages (image of entire front page as it appeared when published from the early 1900 through 1984) and Chicago Tribune Morgue clippings.
A most important look at primary documents--essentially history's "first draft"--revealing rare insights into how American life in past eras really was, and also about how professional historians begin their work. * More than 200 selected primary documents drawn from more than four centuries of American life * General overviews for each broad topic and analytical introductions to each specific document by the editor * A chronological presentation of American history from colonial times to the present * Brief biographical information on the author and historical context for each document
Letting ordinary people speak for themselves, this book uses primary documents to highlight daily life among Americans-Union and Confederate, black and white, soldier and civilian-during the Civil War and Reconstruction. * Original materials from a wide range of sources, including letters, diaries, newspaper editorials, journal articles, and book chapters * Detailed background for each of the 48 featured documents, placing the experiences and opinions of the authors into historical context
The Historic Documents series makes primary source research easy by presenting in one volume key excerpts from documents about the important events of each year for the United States and the world. Each volume includes approximately 70 events with over 100 documents from the previous year, from official or other influential reports and surveys, to speeches from leaders and opinion makers, to court cases, legislation, testimony, and much more. Begins with 1972.
his search engine provides access to millions of texts, images, audio files, video files, and other resources digitized by libraries, archives, museums, and other organizations in the United States. The DPLA is a incredible resource of historical primary source material.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Originally from the University of Georgia, eHistory projects involve “citizen historians” in the amassing and analyzing of historical data. "Private Voices" collection of thousands of letters written by Civil War soldiers who wrote "by ear." Instead of writing grammatically-correct English, these "transitionally literate" men used the alphabet to capture the sounds words made when they spoke them.
A collaboration between the Virginia Center for Digital History and the University of Virginia Library, explores in detail the life during the American Civil War era in two towns, one Southern and one Northern.