Guides: Education: Overview

Welcome!

This guide offers physical and digital resources available for research or work in Education.

Books

Library Resources

Databases for Education

ERIC
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database gives access to educational research, articles, and resources. Information covers topics from early childhood education through higher education.
Professional Development Collection
Provides access to electronic information and journals for educators, librarians, and education researchers.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Source of news, analysis, opinion, information, and career resources for faculty in higher education.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides access to citations and abstracts for more than 230 educational journals and magazines.

Multi-Subject Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Use Academic Search Ultimate to find full-text popular periodical articles or scholarly (peer reviewed) journal articles covering most subject areas. A great place to find reliable articles for your research.
Academic OneFile Select
Functions similarly to Academic Search Ultimate.

English Education
English Education is a peer reviewed journal by English Language Arts Teacher Educators (ELATE), a constituent organization of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). Published quarterly, this resource is perfect for soon to be and existing teachers of English Language Arts/Literacy instruction. A full list of abstracts and publications can be found here.
The Mathematics Teacher
Published by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), this resource provides access to peer reviewed articles on current practices in mathematics education. Content is aimed at preschool-12th grade.
Science & Children
The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) publishes several, grade-level based, peer reviewed journals. Science & Children focuses on elementary and early childhood-level science, Science Scope focuses on middle school, The Science Teacher focuses on high school level, and The Journal of College Science Teaching deals with post-secondary education science.
Social Education
Published by the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS), this peer-reviewed journal contains theoretical content and practical teaching ideas for Social Studies classrooms. NCSS also publishes The Social Studies Professional.
Education Week
A weekly newspaper devoted to education. Articles, profiles, commentary, legislation, state and national news and book reviews for teachers and administrators in elementary and secondary schools.

Library Catalog

New Books in Education

Physical Books

Supporting Transgender Students by Alex Myers
Call Number: LC2575 .M84 2021

Publication Date: 2021
It's Not about Grit : Trauma, Inequity, and the Power of Transformative Teaching by Steven Goodman; Michelle Fine (Foreword by)
Call Number: LC1100 .G66 2018

Publication Date: 2018
For White Folks Who Teach in the Hood... and the Rest of y'all Too by Christopher Emdin
Call Number: LC5131 .E5 2016

Publication Date: 2016
The First Days of School by Harry K. Wong (Based on a movie by); Rosemary T. Wong
Call Number: LB1775.2 .W64 1998

Publication Date: 2004
Introducing Piaget by Ann Marie Halpenny; Jan Pettersen
Call Number: LB1140.2 .H347 2014

Publication Date: 2013
Vygotsky and the Promise of Public Education by Greg S. Goodman (Series edited by); Jennifer A. Vadeboncoeur
Call Number: LB1051 .V26 2017

Publication Date: 2017
Bias in Education by Gary Wiener (Compiled by)
Call Number: LC212.2 .B54 2025

Publication Date: 2024

Contemporary Issues - 14 day Circulation
Education Across Borders : Immigration, Race, and Identity in the Classroom by Patrick Sylvain; Jalene Tamerat; Marie Lily Cerat
Call Number: LC1099.3 .S95 2022

Publication Date: 2022
Creative Commons for Educators and Librarians by Creative Commons
Call Number: KF3002 .C74 2020

Publication Date: 2019

Ebook Search

A Practical Guide to Understanding and Implementing Challenge-Based Learning by Kenan Dikilitas; Tim Marshall; Masoumeh Shahverdi
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2025

OER
Visualising Language Students and Teachers As Multilinguals by Paula Kalaja (Editor); Sílvia Melo-Pfeifer (Editor)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2024

OER
Understanding by Design by Grant Wiggins; Jay McTighe
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2005
Project-Based Learning by Erin Knoche Laverick; Thomas S. C. Farrell (Editor)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2018
Preparing Teachers to Work with Multilingual Learners by Meike Wernicke (Editor); Svenja Hammer (Editor); Antje Hansen (Editor); Tobias Schroedler (Editor)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2021
Mapping the Way from Teacher Preparation to EdTPA® Completion by Jason C. Fitzgerald; Michelle L. Schpakow
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2021
The Elementary School Teacher Technology Guidebook by Thomas M. Brinthaupt; Shannon E. Harmon; Jill A. Robinson
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2021
Collaborating for Inquiry-Based Learning: School Librarians and Teachers Partner for Student Achievement by Virginia L. Wallace; Whitney N. Husid
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2011
The SAGE Handbook of Emotional and Behavioral Difficulties by Philip Garner (Editor); James Kauffman (Editor); Julian Elliot (Editor)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2014
The SAGE Handbook of Special Education by Lani Florian (Editor)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy by D. C. Phillips (Editor)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2014

Access World News
A newspaper database of national, state and local newspapers, including the Beacon News and the Kane County Chronicle.

Formerly known as "America's Newspapers"
Wall Street Journal
Digital Edition. Paid access to the current Wall Street journal provided by Waubonsee Community College Libraries.

If asked to login, you may need to click the "Sign In With Google" link, and provide your Waubonsee Community College email account.
New York Times
Digital Edition. An American newspaper of record with worldwide influence.
Comprehensive digital coverage. Find breaking news, media, reviews and opinion
on national and international topics.
Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text coverage of newspapers and other full text transcripts.
Illinois Newspapers
Full-text access to Illinois newspapers, including several local papers like the Beacon News and the Naperville Sun.

The Chronicle of Higher Education Daily News

Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online database offering access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference materials from academic publishers. It’s a great starting point for reliable background information on a wide range of topics.
Gale eBooks
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of electronic format Reference titles on a variety of topics. A good place to start your research with basic information.
MasterFILE Complete
This database provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents.
Opposing Viewpoints
Easy to search articles with pro and con viewpoints from reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, and statistics. Use this database for your argumentative papers or persuasive speeches.

The Condition of Education 2020 by Education Department
Call Number: Ref LB2846 .C66 2020

Publication Date: 2021
Routledge Encyclopaedia of Educational Thinkers by Joy A. Palmer Cooper
Call Number: Ref LA2301 .R68 2016

Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Special Education, 4 Volume Set by Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor); Kimberly J. Vannest (Editor); Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor)
Call Number: Ref LC4007 .E53 2014 V.1-4

Publication Date: 2014
Learning Theories by David C. Leonard
Call Number: Ref LB15.L4695 2002

Publication Date: 2002

Course Reserves Search

Search by course name, course number or instructor.

Course Materials: Education

Those Who Can, Teach by Kevin Ryan; James M. Cooper
Call Number: EDU200 - Reserve Material - 2 Hour Circulation

ISBN: 9781111830281

Publication Date: 2012
Educational Psychology by Jeanne Ormrod; Eric Anderman; Lynley Anderman
Call Number: EDU210 RANDALL, Reserve Material - 2 Hour Circulation

ISBN: 9780135206478

Publication Date: 2019
Introduction to Special Education : Teaching in an Age of Opportunity by Deborah Deutsch Smith
Call Number: EDU220 RANDALL, Reserve Material - 2 Hour Circulation

ISBN: 9780205470334

Publication Date: 2005
The First Days of School by Harry K. Wong (Based on a movie by); Rosemary T. Wong
Call Number: EDU220 RANDALL, Reserve Material - 2 Hour Circulation

ISBN: 9780962936067

Publication Date: 2004

U.S. Department of Education
Includes statistics, searchable collections, and links to other education sites.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. The Digest of Educational Statistics is available.
EduRef.org
Lesson plans and Resource guides from the National Council for Open Education.
National Education Association
Resources for workplace rights, professional development, and advocacy.