This page contains links to sites for community partners located throughout the Waubonsee Community College District 516. These resources range from mental health assistance, to food assistance, to housing and employment services.
Although there are many resources listed here, there may be even more out there. If you know of a community agency that would be beneficial for students, employees, and community members of Waubonsee to know about, please have them complete the Waubonsee Libraries Community Partner Request form.
The Arc of Illinois is an organization for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. This link will direct you to the location and contact information for the Aurora office dedicated to independent living.
The Association for Individual Development (AID) serves individuals with developmental, intellectual, physical and/or mental health challenges, those who have suffered a trauma and those at risk. Information on services and resources ranging from crisis care to employment to hot lunch programs are available at the link above, just click the AID logo.
Donka can help provide computer training and job readiness skills to people with physical, visual, and limiting learning disabilities. This non-profit organization also helps provide services to veterans, and has financial support options.
Family Counseling Service is located in Aurora and Oswego, and provides behavioral healthcare and counseling services. Services range from counseling to medication assessment and management to substance abuse. Family Counseling Services also provides a First Responder Behavioral Health program specifically for first responders who may have concerns seeking behavioral health treatment.
The Illinois Client Assistance Program (CAP) is a service available to help persons with disabilities understand and utilize rehabilitation services offered to them through the Illinois Department of Human Services. Anyone who is looking for information, or ready to apply for services from the Division of Rehabilitation Services (DRS), Vocational Rehabilitation, or the Center for Independent Living can contact CAP.
At the Illinois Department of Human Services Office of Rehabilitation Services (VR) site, you can apply for and manage your SNAP and medical assistance resources, apply for childcare assistance, report fraud, abuse, or neglect, find tax forms, and more!
Learning Ally is a non-profit organization helping to find and provide equitable learning solutions that help those with reading disabilities, including blindness, visual impairments, dyslexia, and more. Learning Ally has over 80,000 accessible audio textbooks and literature titles, one of the largest in the world!
As a community resource for families and individuals impacted by domestic and/or sexual violence and substance use disorders, Mutual Ground provides services from a crisis hotline to residential assistance to legal help and medical advocacy. If you or someone you know needs assistance and are in the Aurora area, this is a wonderful resource.
This branch of NAMI encompasses anyone in the Kane-South, DeKalb, and Kendall county communities. NAMI provides services that range from support groups, to educational webinars, to community events. All of these events help provide advocacy, education, and support for individuals, family members, and communities needing mental health assistance.
For anyone needing paratransit services (even outside of the Waubonsee District, but within Illinois), this link provides a contact directory for all paratransit reservations through Pace.
The Kendall County Community Food Pantry offers pickup locations in Oswego, Plano, and Yorkville. In addition to food related resources, Kendall County Community Food Pantry also offers medical services, clothing options, and pet food.
Registration is required.
Mobile Markets (some that even take place at Waubonsee Community College) offer free and fresh weekly groceries. Click here to view upcoming events in the area.
No ID, proof of income, or referral is needed.
For residents of LaSalle County, who are experiencing "emergency circumstances" such as:
Registration is required.
The DeKalb County Community Gardens offer a variety of programs for food assistance:
Each program may have different requirements. Some do not require registration.
Housing services for both DuPage and Kendall Counties can be found here. Information is provided on applying for housing assistance, Veteran Affairs Supportive Housing Program, landlord resources, employment opportunities, and more.
Hesed House is the second largest homeless shelter in Illinois. They are equipped to help assist with seeking shelter, facing eviction, shutting off utilities, support with security deposits, counseling through traumatic experiences, job guidance, and more.
The Housing Authority for LaSalle County has resources on applying for housing assistance, information on communities within the county, and more.
The Housing Authority of DeKalb County provides resources including applications for housing assistance, administering Housing Choice Voucher rental assistance, landlord information, and more.
The mission of the Aurora Housing Authority is to "...provide safe, decent and affordable housing for the people of the City of Aurora." Here you will find information on how to apply for affordable housing, make rent payments, landlord resources, and more.
Photo Credit: Waubonsee Community College
From Academic Advising to Tutoring, to Library Services, Waubonsee has so many tools to help Students succeed academically. These resources are all included with your tuition, so take advantage of them!
Video Credit: Waubonsee Community College
Are you a first-generation student? Make sure to checkout Student Support Services/TRIO, a national program that allows students to take advantage of tutoring, college visits, workshops, cultural field trips, and more!
"Supporting our students doesn't end when class does. Waubonsee honors integrity and individual rights,
and Student Intervention & Support work to implement and maintain an environment where all students, faculty and staff feel empowered to learn from experience and each other." - Academic Support
Waubonsee Community College has a program for students called Money Matters. This program can help you build a budget, or refine the budget you currently have. Peer Finance Educators work together to provide information and educational opportunities. Check out their website for additional resources.
Video Credit: Federal Student Aid
Waubonsee understands that life can throw challenges at us. This is why the Financial Aid department also has
resources on Special and Unusual Circumstances. Visit their website to learn more about your options for financial help at Waubonsee Community College.
Are you currently having housing insecurities? Don't know where you'll be able to spend your night? Waubonsee has resources! Please contact the HOUSE Care Team! You can take the first steps by filling out the Housing Outreach Request.
Director of Student Financial Aid Services
Mary Greenwood, HOUSE Liasion
Student Success and Retention Counselor
Evelyn Aviles-Davis, HOUSE Liasion
Financial Aid Advisor - Scholarships
Tess Corral, HOUSE Care Team
Financial Aid Manager
Katy Smith, HOUSE Care Team
Student Center, Second Floor
Email: HOUSE@waubonsee.edu
Waubonsee has resources for so many challenging life situations. These situations can take a toll on mental health too. If you would like counseling services for anything from addiction, to credit counseling, to grief and loss, please visit the Personal Counseling Resources page.
Video Credit: NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness)
Your mental health is just as important as your physical health. Ask for help if you need it. All faculty an
d staff at Waubonsee Community College are here to help.
Waubonsee even has a 24/7 phone line. You can contact the Waubonsee Talk Line at (630) 264-0394. In the case of an emergency, when you or someone you care about is in immediate danger, call 9-1-1.
Need
help with your x-number? Do you need to request a hotspot for internet access at home? Technical Assistance Center (TAC) is where you will find so many technology answers.
TAC Information
|
Don't forget about the library too! If you have questions about Canvas, or how to use certain features 
on your computer, our Student Workers and Senior Student Technology Support Specialist can help! Stop by the Todd Library at the Sugar Grove Campus in Collins Hall.
It is always difficult to be unemployed or underemployed. Waubonsee has resources for this too. Students can find access to free educational information and trainings, assistance finding a new career path, and help understanding unemployment benefits and how to utilize them.
If you are between the ages of 16-24, you may be eligible for the Waubonsee Works. This program provides free tuition and books for High School Equivalency Certificate (GED) or a short-term career certificate.
Video Credit: Waubonsee Community College
Career Development is also here for Waubonsee students. Visit their website or at the Student Center at Sugar Grove from 8AM-4:30PM.