Pride Month: Resources: Articles

Advocate. June 2021, Issue 1115, p28-49

Journal of the History of Sexuality. May 2022, Vol. 31, Issue 2

It is important to note that there existed lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals, communities, and relationships long before these terms became commonplace. Gay and lesbian relationships existed in ancient Rome and Greece communities and are shown in a variety of art from that time. The years when common terms began to be used are listed first followed by important LGBTQ history events.

From the American Psychology Association, this articles provides an overview of LGBT social movements from the 1870s to today.

Activities to help students learn about a significant moment in L.G.B.T.Q. history using contemporary articles, videos, photographs and The Times’s archive.

Howard was a constant champion for bi inclusion in early LGBTQ+ activism. Without her, pride as we know it wouldn't exist.

Watch Pose's Billy Porter give us a rundown on important political movements that have changed the course of LGBTQ+ history.

The HIV/AIDS protest group was the first great leap for the queer movement after Stonewall.

This database includes resource on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Part of Alexander Street Online.

Illuminates the history of sexuality in all its expressions, recognizing various differences of class, culture, gender, race, and sexual orientation. Spanning geographic and temporal boundaries, JHS provides a much-needed forum for historical, critical, and theoretical research in this field. Its cross-cultural and cross-disciplinary character brings together original articles and critical reviews from historians, social scientists, and humanities scholars worldwide.

Research guides and videos about Pride Month from the Library of Congress.

A resource guide on movements leading up to the Stonewall Riots, events that occurred during the Riots, and activism that began after the Riots.

From the National Archives, this resource documents the experience of the full range of our diverse society. Within the collections, you will find records that constitute a rich documentary history of the experience of LGBTQ+ individuals.

From the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, an archive cataloging LGBTQ history through videos, news releases, art, and more.

A bibliography of gay and lesbian history from around the world.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities. Doing this also serves to uncover and document our herstory previously denied to us by patriarchal historians in the interests of the culture that they served. The existence of the Archives will thus enable current and future generations to analyze and reevaluate the Lesbian experience.

The Black Trans Archive is an interactive archive/text-based game designed to store and center black trans people, their history/ancestry, and the experiences they continue to face in today's world. At the beginning, the game asks you to select how you identify, and the answer you choose determines the kind of interaction you have with the game. If you don't identify as a black trans person, you can still play this game as it is a wonderful opportunity to educate yourself, confront your privileges, dismantle your prejudices, and learn how to be an ally.