Skip to Main Content

Scholarly/Peer reviewed Articles: Finding scholarly articles

How to locate the type of articles you need

The easiest and fastest way to find peer-reviewed articles is to search the online library databases, many of which include peer-reviewed journals. To make sure your results come from peer-reviewed (also called "scholarly" or "academic") journals, do the following:

  1. Read the database description to determine if it features peer-reviewed articles.
  2. When you search for articles, choose the Advanced Search option. On the search screen, look for a check-box that allows you to limit your results to peer-reviewed only.
  3. Recommended databases to start with are Academic Search Complete or Academic One File

         

Quick tips for searching a database

  1. Keep your search simple. Enter basic terms for each aspect of your topic, such as "energy drinks and health."
  2. Use the limiting options available on most databases. Common limiters are full-text, date, and source type of "scholarly/peer reviewed articles." 
  3. Evaluate your results. Use the title of the article, the abstract (summary) and the subject terms to determine if the articles are relevant to you. 
  4. To display the full article, click on the PDF icon, the "HTML Full Text," or other full text icon.  
  5. Please contact a librarian if you need any assistance.

Need more help?  How to find articles (pdf)  For a step by step guide with screenshots.

Subject Specific Databases

Some databases cover a specific subject, and these can be good places to look for scholarly literature in a field of study. While most of the articles will be scholarly, you may need to select the scholarly limit while searching in these.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Contact Us

Contact us using Live Chat. It operates during the hours that the library is open for online service. Or email us your questions.

Library Account
Library Account Questions
Headset
Technology / Online Access Questions